Kerala bypoll results: LDF wrests Vattiyoorkavu, Konni; UDF secures Ernakulam, Manjeswaram, and Aroor

Kerala bypoll results live updates
IUML workers celebrate in Manjeswaram as UDF candidate M C Kamarudheen wins by 7,923 votes. Photo:Jibin Chempola

Left Democratic Front wrested the prestigious Vattiyoorkavu seat from the Congress. CPI(M)-led LDF's V K Prasanth won the seat by a margin of over 14,000 votes. Vattiyoorkavu had always voted a Congress legislator since its formation.

Another Congress bastion, Konni, also crumbled as CPI(M) candidate K U Janeesh Kumar won by a margin of nearly 10,000 votes over his nearest Congress rival.

United Democratic Front (UDF) candidate T J Vinod retained the Ernakulam assembly constituency by a margin of over 3,500 votes. UDF retained the Manjeswaram constituency as the Indian Union Muslim League's M C Kamarudheen won by 7,923 votes.

The UDF's Shanimol Usman won the Aroor assembly constituency by 2,079 votes.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has got a drubbing with its candidates finishing third in four constituencies. The party finished second only in Manjeswaram.

Bypolls were held in Vattiyoorkavu in Thiruvananthapuram district, Konni in Pathanamthitta, Aroor in Alappuzha, Ernakulam and Manjeswaram in Kasaragod on October 21.

In Vattiyoorkkavu, CPI(M)'s V K Prasanth secured a lead margin of 14,465 votes. Prashanth got 54,830 votes while Congress' Mohan Kumar secured 40,365. BJP's S Suresh, who came third, got 27,453 votes.

In Konni, CPI(M)'s P U Janeesh Kumar polled 54,099 securing a lead of 9,953 votes against Congress candidate P Mohanraj, who got 44,146 votes. BJP's K Surendran came third with 39,786 votes.

Congress leader Shanimol Usman secured 69,356 votes in Aroor. Her nearest rival CPI(M)'s Manu C Pulickal stays in the second position with 67,277 votes. BJP's Prakash Babu got 16,289 votes.

Congress' T J Vinod retained the Ernakulam seat with a margin of 3,750 votes. He polled 37,891 votes as against LDF independent Manu Roy who collected 34,141 votes and BJP's C G Rajagopal who tallied 13,351 votes.

Indian Union Muslim League's M C Kamarudheen secured the Manjeswaram seat with a majority of 7,923 votes. He tallied 65,407 votes against BJP's Ravisha Tantri Kuntar who came second with 57,484 votes. CPI(M)'s M Shankar Rai came third with 38,233 votes.

Except Aroor, the other four seats were held by the Congress-led United Democratic Front (UDF).

According to the Election Commission, 75.78% votes were polled in Manjeswaram. Ernakulam polled 57.90%, Aroor 80.47%, Konni 70.07% and Vattiyoorkavu 62.66%.

In the recent Pala bypoll, the LDF had managed to make a dent into the bastion of the Kerala Congress (M), a UDF partner, by wresting it after 50 years.

The Sabarimala women entry issue, the marks row controversy against Higher Education minister K T Jaleel, were some issues raised during campaigning by the UDF and BJP.

In the 140-member state assembly, LDF has 92 MLAs, UDF 46 and BJP one, besides Independent member P C George. The Anglo Indian community has a nominated member in the House.

Kerala bypoll results live updates
VD Satheesan MLA and Hibi Eden MP congratulating Congress' TJ Vinod after securing victory at the Ernakulam Assembly seat. Photo: Josekutty Panackal
The comments posted here/below/in the given space are not on behalf of Onmanorama. The person posting the comment will be in sole ownership of its responsibility. According to the central government's IT rules, obscene or offensive statement made against a person, religion, community or nation is a punishable offense, and legal action would be taken against people who indulge in such activities.