Resul Pookutty's elder brother and 17 other LJD leaders join CPM

LJD, CPM presser
CPM state secretary Kodiyeri Balakrishnan with former LJD members, including its former state general secretary Shaik P Harriz at a press conference in the AKG Centre in Thiruvananthapuram on Friday. Facebook screengrab/@CPIMKerala

Thiruvananthapuram: A host of Loktantrik Janata Dal (LJD) leaders, who had been warring with its state president MV Shreyams Kumar, have left the party and joined the CPM.

Among the major LJD members who were welcomed into the CPM by state secretary Kodiyeri Balakrishnan here on Friday are Shaik P Harriz and Baiju Pookutty, who is the elder brother of Oscar winner Resul Pookutty.

Baiju Pookutty, elder brother of Resul Pookutty.

Shaik P Harriz, who was the state general secretary of LJD is the most popular of the lot. The others that have joined CPM are

Angathil Ajayakumar, B Rajesh Prem, TV Sukumaran, KK Babu, MA Tomy, NV Shyam, AO Shanavas, AV Khalid, Poovachal Nassar, Adv Suresh, Shamnad Rahim, Menaka Balakrishnan, Jameel K, Safeer P Harris, Adv Ajmal and AR Haridas.

"The CPM district committees will inspect and give them responsibilities. The party's state secretariat will decide on the roles of those who held state-level positions in LJD," said CPM state secretary Kodiyeri Balakrishnan.

Shaik P Harriz said that the LJD members had decided to be part of the CPM in mid-December and were welcomed with open arms by Kodiyeri and Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan.

The comments posted here/below/in the given space are not on behalf of Onmanorama. The person posting the comment will be in sole ownership of its responsibility. According to the central government's IT rules, obscene or offensive statement made against a person, religion, community or nation is a punishable offense, and legal action would be taken against people who indulge in such activities.