CPM unveils final list of candidates for Lok Sabha elections

Article Image-Haritha - 2
V. Waseef (Malappuram), T. M. Thomas Isaac (Pathanamthitta), M. Mukesh (Kollam), Joyce George (Idukki), A. Vijayaraghavan (Palakad), K. J. Shine (Ernakulam), M. V. Jayarajan (Kannur), KK Shailaja (Vadakara), Elamaram Kareem (Kozhikode), AM Ariff (Alappuzha), V. Joy (Attingal), MV Balakrishnan (Kasaragod), K. Radhakrishnan (Alathur) ), C. Raveendranath (Chalakkudy) and K. S. Hamsa (Ponnani).

Thiruvanathapuram: The Communist Party of India (Marxist) on Tuesday revealed the definitive roster of candidates slated to contest in the Lok Sabha elections. CPM Secretary MV Govindan unveiled the list following consultations with the party's national leadership.

The CPM is set to contest in 15 out of the 20 Lok Sabha constituencies in the state. CPI, which is also part of the LDF, will contest in the remaining four seats. As previously determined, KK Shailaja will vie for the Vadakara constituency and Thomas Isaac will contest from Pathanamthitta.

CPM's final list of candidates:

  • Alappuzha - A M Ariff
  • Alathur - K Radhakrishnan
  • Attingal - V Joy
  • Chalakudy - Prof C Raveendranath
  • Ernakulam - K J Shine
  • Idukki - Joyce George
  • Kannur - M V Jayarajan
  • Kasaragod - M V Balakrishnan
  • Kollam - M Mukesh
  • Kozhikode - Elamaram Kareem
  • Malappuram - V Waseef
  • Palakkad - A Vijayaraghavan
  • Pathanamthitta - Thomas Isaac
  • Ponnani - K S Hamsa
  • Vadakara - K K Shailaja

The CPI had announced the names of its four candidates for the Lok Sabha elections earlier. The party will field senior leaders Pannyan Raveendran and Annie Raja from the Thiruvananthapuram and Wayanad seats, respectively. Former agriculture minister V S Sunil Kumar will contest from Thrissur and C A Arun Kumar will be fielded in the Mavelikkara seat.

The comments posted here/below/in the given space are not on behalf of Onmanorama. The person posting the comment will be in sole ownership of its responsibility. According to the central government's IT rules, obscene or offensive statement made against a person, religion, community or nation is a punishable offense, and legal action would be taken against people who indulge in such activities.