KPCC adopts a leaner structure with 56 functionaries, including 5 women

Congress announces new KPCC, VT Balram, Sajeendran among four vice presidents
V T Balram and N Sakthan

The Congress has appointed office bearers and executive committee of the party's Kerala unit, which is witnessing a massive restructuring exercise in the aftermath of the assembly poll debacle earlier this year.

The All India Congress Committee on Thursday announced the appointment of the Kerala Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC) functionaries.

N Sakthan, V T Balram, V J Paulose and V P Sajeendran have been appointed KPCC vice presidents.

V P Sajeendran
V P Sajeendran

Prathapa Chandran is the new treasurer. The new committee consists of 23 general secretaries and 28 executive committee members.

The new committee has 56 members, including KPCC president K Sudhakaran, and working presidents P T Thomas, Kodikkunnil Suresh and T Siddique.

This is a huge change in the party's state unit, which used to have 'jumbo committees' consisting of nearly 500 members in the past few decades.

The committee has five women-Deepthy Mary Varghese, K A Thulasi and Alippatta Jameela (general secretaries) and Padmaja Venugopal and P R Sona (executive committee members).

After taking over as KPCC president, Sudhakaran had announced that the PCC would be restructured with just 51 members.

Sudhakaran's reforms, with the blessings of the party's central leadership, have irked the traditional power centres within the state unit, headed by Oommen Chandy and Ramesh Chennithala, who steer the A and I factions respectively.

Sudhakaran said the committee was restructured giving due consideration for all sections of society. He said those who want the party to better its position would not protest against the latest appointments. He said AICC general secretary K C Venugopal has not intervened in the latest appointments. The list was prepared after consulting all senior leaders including Oommen Chandy.

"The number of office-bearers has come down considerably. There could be people who are not satisfied with this. Those who have been excluded from the committee would be given other charges," he said.

He said more women would be included in the list of KPCC secretaries.

All Congress Working Committee members from Kerala and former PCC presidents will be permanent invitees of the executive committee. All members of the Political Affairs Committee, all MPs, all MLAs, AICC secretaries from Kerala and outgoing DCC presidents will also be special invitees.

The comments posted here/below/in the given space are not on behalf of Onmanorama. The person posting the comment will be in sole ownership of its responsibility. According to the central government's IT rules, obscene or offensive statement made against a person, religion, community or nation is a punishable offense, and legal action would be taken against people who indulge in such activities.