BCCI central contract: Pujara, Rahane demoted

Cheteshwar Pujara and Ajinkya Rahane
Cheteshwar Pujara and Ajinkya Rahane have been dropped from the Indian Test squad. File photo: AFP/Patrick Hamilton

New Delhi: Veteran batters Cheteshwar Pujara and Ajinkya Rahane and all-rounder Hardik Pandya were demoted in the latest central contracts list of the BCCI that was ratified by the Board's Apex Council on Wednesday.

The BCCI has four categories - A+ which have annual remuneration of Rs 7 crore while A, B and C categories are valued at Rs 5 crore, Rs 3 crore and Rs 1 crore respectively.

Both Rahane and Pujara had produced underwhelming performances in the last season and were eventually dropped from India's Test squad. As a result, they have been downgraded from Grade A to Grade B in the latest central contracts list.

Meanwhile, Indian captain Rohit Sharma, former skipper Virat Kohli and pace-bowling spearhead Jasprit Bumrah are the three players in A+ category, as per sources.

On the other hand, injured Hardik Pandya, who has not played for India since the 2021 T20 World Cup, has been dropped from A category to C category. Similarly, opener Shikhar Dhawan, who presently is considered for ODIs only by the team management, has been demoted from A category to C as well.

Wicketkeeper-batter Wriddhiman Saha, who was recently involved in an off-field controversy after being dropped from the Test side for the home series against Sri Lanka, has been demoted from B category to C.

Pacer Navdeep Saini and chinaman Kuldeep Yadav have been excluded from the list. Earlier, they were in the C category.

Full list of players in each category

A+ category: - Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah.

A category: Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, K L Rahul, Mohammed Shami, Rishabh Pant.

B category: Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Shreyas Iyer, Mohammed Siraj, Ishant Sharma.

C category: Shikhar Dhawan, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Hardik Pandya, Washington Sundar, Deepak Chahar, Shubman Gill, Hanuma Vihari, Yuzvendra Chahal, Suryakumar Yadav, Wriddhiman Saha, Mayank Agarwal.

The comments posted here/below/in the given space are not on behalf of Onmanorama. The person posting the comment will be in sole ownership of its responsibility. According to the central government's IT rules, obscene or offensive statement made against a person, religion, community or nation is a punishable offense, and legal action would be taken against people who indulge in such activities.