Thiruvananthapuram emerge champions in NSK Trophy State T20

The victorious Thiruvananthapuram team members and support staff. Photo: Special Arrangement

Thumba (Thiruvananthapuram): Hosts Thiruvananthapuram edged out Alappuzha by one wicket to emerge champions in the NSK Trophy State T20 Championship at the KCA-St Xavier's College Ground here on Saturday.

Thiruvananthapuram restricted Alappuzha to 123/7 in a final reduced to 15-overs-a-side due to rain.  Prasoon Prasad top-scored with a 13-ball 32, while Jerin P S smashed 29 off 13 deliveries. Pacer Fanoss F (2/7) and Biju Narayanan (2/16) starred with the ball for the home side. 

Thiruvananthapuram overhauled the target with two balls to spare. Akshay Shiv (38) and Abhishek J Nair (35) were the main run-getters for the winners.

Biju Narayanan was named man of the match.

Brief scores: Alappuzha 123/7 in 15 overs (Prasoon Prasad 32, Jerin P S 29;  Fanoos 2/7, Biju Narayanan 2/16) lost to Thiruvananthapuram 125/9 in 14.4 overs (Akshay Shiv 38, Abhishek J Nair 35; Harikrishnan M  3/18, Prasoon Prasad 2/30).

The comments posted here/below/in the given space are not on behalf of Onmanorama. The person posting the comment will be in sole ownership of its responsibility. According to the central government's IT rules, obscene or offensive statement made against a person, religion, community or nation is a punishable offense, and legal action would be taken against people who indulge in such activities.