Kerala State Film Awards: Mammootty, Vincy best actors, 'Nanpakal...' best film

Vincy Aloshious won the award for best actor (Female), while Mammootty has been adjudged the best actor. Photos: Instagram

Thiruvananthapuram: 'Mammootty-Lijo Jose Pellissery company' has cracked it at the 53rd Kerala State Film Awards. Mammootty, who made a major comeback this year, was adjudged the best actor.

He won the award for his performances as James and Sundaram in the Lijo Jose Pellissery film 'Nanpakal Nerathu Mayakkam'. The superstar, who won his first best actor award in 1981, clinched it for the sixth time.

Mammootty was adjudged the best actor in the Kerala State Film Award. Photo: Instagram

Vincy Aloshious who played the titular character in the film 'Rekha' bagged the best female actor award. Her performances in 'Solomante Theneechakal' and 'Jana Gana Mana' had also received a lot of praise from the audience earlier this year.

'Nanpakal Nerathu Mayakkam' directed by Lijo bagged the award for best film, while 'Nna Thaan Case Kodu' has been selected as the Best Film with Popular Appeal and Aesthetic Value. Ratheesh Balakrishnan Poduval, who directed the film, won the award for best original screenplay. 'Nna Thaan Case Kodu', which was a critical and commercial success received the maximum number of awards at this year's state awards.

'Nanpakal Nerathu Mayakkam' was adjudged best film. Photos: Imdb

Kamal KM who directed and wrote the film 'Pada' featuring Kunchacko Boban and Joju George won the award for Best Story. Rajesh Kumar R won the award for Best Screenplay (adapted) for the film 'Oru Thekkan Thallu Case'.

Maneesh Madhavan and Chandru Selvarajan were adjudged the winners in the best cinematography category in the film 'Ela Veezha Poonchira' and 'Vazhakku', respectively.

Special mention
Meanwhile, Kunchacko who was the forerunner for the best actor award received a special jury mention for his performance in the film 'Nna Thaan Case Kodu'. Alencier, who played the bed-ridden antagonist in the film 'Appan' also received a special jury mention. Directors Biswajith S and Rarish G received Special Jury Mention for direction by the jury, while Shruthi Sharanyam won the Special Award in Any Category for Women/Transgender.

'Ela Veezha Poonchira' has delivered Manesh Madhavan his second state award for Cinematography

Other awards
'Adithattu' featuring Prashanth Alexander and Sunny Wayne was adjudged the second best film this year. Devi Varma who played Ayisha Rawther bagged an award for the best character role award (female) for 'Saudi Vellakka'. P P Kunjikrishnan won the best character role award (male) for his role as the quirky judge in the hit film 'Nna Thaan Case Kodu'. Shahi Kabir was selected as the best debut director for his film 'Ela Veezha Poonchira'.

'Pallotty 90s Kids', which is yet to release in theatres, was selected as the best children's film. The movie is a heart-touching tale of two children and their friendship that evokes childhood memories. Unlike last year, there were eight children's movies that were submitted for the state awards. Meanwhile, M Jayachandran bagged the best music composer award. for the score in 'Ayisha', 'Pathonpatham Nootandu'.

Master Da Vinci received the award for the best child artist (male) for his role in 'Pallotty 90s kids'. Thanmaya Sol who played the hearing-impaired girl Thara in Sanal Kumar Sasidharan's film 'Vazhakku' was adjudged the best child artist (female).

Alencier received a special jury mention for his role in 'Appan'. Photos: Imdb

Kerala State Film Awards were announced by the minister for cultural affairs Saji Cheriyan at the PR, Chamber Secretariat on Friday. As many as 30 films reached the final draw of the total 154 films that were long-listed for the state awards.Two prominent jury members had picked 77 films out of the 154 that were submitted.

Devi Varma who played Ayisha Rawther won the award in the the best character actress category. Pallotty 90s Kids was adjudged the best children's film this year. Photos: Imdb

List of winners
Best Actor
- Mammootty (Nanpakal Nerathu Mayakkam)
Best Actress - Vincy Aloshious (Rekha)
Best Film – Nanpakal Nerathu Mayakkam
Second Best Film – Adithattu
Best Director - Mahesh Narayanan (Ariyippu)
Special Jury Mention (Direction) - Biswajith S and Rarish G
Special Award in Any Category for Women/Transgender - Shruthi Sharanyam
Best Story - Kamal KM (Pada)
Best Character Actor - PP Kunhikrishnan (Nna Thaan Case Kodu)
Best Character Actress - Devi Varma (Saudi Vellakka)
Best Debut Director - Shahi Kabir (Ela veezhapoonchira)
Best Child Actor - Master Da Vinci (Pallotty 90's Kids)
Best Child Actress - Thanmaya (Vazhakku)
Best Film with Popular Appeal and Aesthetic Value - Nna Thaan Case Kodu
Best Children's Film - Pallotty 90's Kids
Special Jury Award mention (Acting) - Kunchacko BobanAlencier Ley Lopez (Appan)
Best Music Director (Songs) - M Jayachandran (Pathonpathaam Noottaandu and Ayisha)
Best Music Director (Score) - Dawn Vincent (Nna Thaan Case Kodu)
Best Lyrics - Rafeeque Ahammed (Thiramaala | Viddiyude Mash)
Best Male Singer - Kapil Kapilan (Kanave | Pallotty 90's Kids)
Best Female Singer - Mridula Warrier (Mayilpeeli | Pathonpathaam Noottaandu)
Best Screenplay (Original) - Ratheesh Balakrishnan Poduval (Nna Thaan Case Kodu)
Best Screenplay (Adapted) - Rajesh Kumar R (Oru Thekkan Thallu Case)
Best Cinematography - Manesh Madhavan (Ela Veezhapoonchira) and Chandru Selvaraj (Vazhakku)
Best Editor - Nishad Yousuf (Thallumaala)

The comments posted here/below/in the given space are not on behalf of Onmanorama. The person posting the comment will be in sole ownership of its responsibility. According to the central government's IT rules, obscene or offensive statement made against a person, religion, community or nation is a punishable offense, and legal action would be taken against people who indulge in such activities.