Kerala Sahitya Akademi Awards: Dr M Basheer and N Prabhakaran win fellowship

Kerala Sahitya Akademi Award is given each year to Malayalam writers for their outstanding books of literary merit. Representative image, courtesy: Chinnapong/Shutterstock

Renowned writers Dr. M Basheer and N Prabhakaran have been honoured with Kerala Sahitya Akademi fellowship that carries a cash prize of Rs 50000. Meanwhile, writers Shreekrishnapuram Krishnankutty, Dr Pallipuram Murali, John Samuel, K P Sudheera, Dr Rathi Saxena, Dr. P K Sukumaran have been awarded for Overall Contributions, which carries a cash prize of Rs 30000.

The list of other awardees who won a cash prize of 25,000 each are:

NG Unnikrishnan (Kadalasuvidya - Poetry)

V Shinilal (Samparkkakranthi - Novel)

P F Mathews (Muzhakkam-Story)

Emil Madhavi (Kumaru-Drama)

S Saradakutty (Ethrayethtra Preranakal - Literary Criticism)

B R P Bhaskar (News Room - Biography and Autobiography)

C Anoop (Dakshinafrikan Yathrapusthakam - Travelogue)

Haritha Savithri (Murivettavarude Pathakal - Travelogue)

Jayanth Kamicheril (Oru Kumarakomkarante Kuruthamketta Likhithangal - Humour)

V Ravikumar (Bodler - Translation)

Dr K Sreekumar (Chakkaramambazham - Children's Literature)

C M Muralidharan (Bhashasuthranam - Scholarly Literature)

K Sethuraman (Malayali Oru Janithakam - Scholarly Literature)

The comments posted here/below/in the given space are not on behalf of Onmanorama. The person posting the comment will be in sole ownership of its responsibility. According to the central government's IT rules, obscene or offensive statement made against a person, religion, community or nation is a punishable offense, and legal action would be taken against people who indulge in such activities.