Indians need no visa to enter these 62 countries

Indian passport remains at 80th position in the Henley Passport Index. Photo: Shutterstock/Chan2545

Indian travellers are ecstatic that a greater number of countries have announced they welcome tourists from India without a visa. So, travel enthusiasts call 2024 the ‘year of travellers’ as they could now include more countries in their bucket list. Besides, you need not pay the visa charges to visit these countries. Sixty-two countries across various continents are beckoning Indian travellers to visit their countries and enjoy their unique culture, picturesque locales, beaches and historically significant spots.

The list of nations that welcome Indians without visas includes countries in the Southeast Asian region, Europe, Africa and the Caribbean Islands. These countries are unique cultural destinations with lots of popular tourist spots too. In the last few years, Indians have been showing greater interest in travelling. Taking advantage of this, the countries aim to boost their tourism industry by making the travelling experience hassle-free for Indian travellers.

What is Henley Passport Index?
Indian passport remains at 80th position in the Henley Passport Index. The Henley Passport Index is an online global ranking system that evaluates the world’s passports based on the number of destinations their holders can access without a visa. The passports are ranked based on the data provided by the International Air Transport Association. The rankings demonstrate the global positioning of the countries according to the freedom of travel allowed to the ordinary passport holders of these countries.

The most powerful passport
Currently, six countries – Germany, France, Italy, Japan, Singapore and Spain – hold the title of possessing the most powerful passports in the world. The passport holders of these countries can travel to a whopping 194 destinations without a visa. Interestingly, Afghanistan holds the lowest position in the Henley Passport Index. Afghan citizens can enter only twenty-eight countries in the world without having a visa. Meanwhile, Syria and Iraq passport holders can enter 29 and 31 countries respectively. Pakistani citizens can travel to thirty flour destinations without a visa.

These are the countries that welcome Indian travellers without a visa – Angola, Barbados, Bhutan, Bolivia, British Virgin Islands, Burundi, Cambodia, Cape Verde Islands, Comoro Islands, Cook Islands, Djibouti, Dominica, El Salvador, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Guinea – Bissau, Haiti, Indonesia, Iran, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Laos, Macao (SAR China), Madagascar, Malaysia, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Micronesia, Montserrat, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nepal, Niue, Oman, Palau Islands, Qatar, Rwanda, Samoa, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sri Lanka, Saint Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor – Leste, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Tuvalu, Vanuatu and Zimbabwe.

The comments posted here/below/in the given space are not on behalf of Onmanorama. The person posting the comment will be in sole ownership of its responsibility. According to the central government's IT rules, obscene or offensive statement made against a person, religion, community or nation is a punishable offense, and legal action would be taken against people who indulge in such activities.