Citizens of these 87 countries can visit the UAE without a pre-entry visa

According to the updated regulations, nationals from 110 countries are required to obtain a visa before they arrive in the UAE. Photo: Shutterstock/ One Photo

Abu Dhabi: In a significant development, the UAE Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MOFA) has announced that nationals from 87 countries would be allowed to enter the United Arab Emirates (UAE) without a pre-entry visa. However, India is not included in this list of Visa on Arrival countries, as per the updated visa exemption policy. Indian citizens holding ordinary passports, a visiting visa or permanent resident card issued by the USA, or a residence visa in the UK and European Union countries valid for at least six months, are allowed a visa on arrival. This visa grants a stay of 14 days, with the option to extend for an additional 14 days.

Pre-entry visa required for 110 nationals
According to the updated regulations, nationals from 110 countries are required to obtain a visa prior to their arrival in the UAE. To learn more about this, visit the official website of the UAE Ministry of Foreign Affairs. One can verify the list of countries exempted and visa requirements by going through this website. People are also free to contact the Federal Authority for Identity, Citizenship, Ports Security, and Customs (ICP) for additional information.

No visa or sponsorship required for GCC citizens
Meanwhile, the UAE Digital Government has clarified that the citizens of the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) do not need a visa or sponsorship to visit the country. They are eligible for entry by presenting a passport issued by a GCC state or an identity card upon arrival at UAE ports of entry. Foreign nationals are required to visit the link ( to access the list of nationalities exempt from prior visa arrangements. Those eligible can obtain a valid entry visa for 30 days on their landing in the UAE, with a grace period of 10 days. Additionally, citizens from select countries can obtain a visa for 90 days upon arrival.

In cases where prior visa arrangements are necessary, individuals not falling on the visa exemption list must obtain an entry permit issued by a sponsor before arriving in the UAE. The type of entry permit required, issued by the General Directorate of Residency and Foreigners Affairs, depends on the purpose of the visit. The new initiative aims to simplify travel for tourists and foster a more accessible visitation process to the country.

List of countries now eligible for Visa on Arrival
Albania, Andorra, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, El Salvador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Hungary, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of China, Iceland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kiribati, Kuwait, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Montenegro, Nauru, New Zealand, Norway, Oman, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Ireland, Romania, Russia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, The Bahamas, The Netherlands, UK, Ukraine, Uruguay, US, Vatican, Hellenic, Bosnia, and Kosovo.

The comments posted here/below/in the given space are not on behalf of Onmanorama. The person posting the comment will be in sole ownership of its responsibility. According to the central government's IT rules, obscene or offensive statement made against a person, religion, community or nation is a punishable offense, and legal action would be taken against people who indulge in such activities.