Planning a Euro trip? Details on the latest Schengen visa fee hike

Generally, the Schengen visa fee is revised once in three years. Photo: Shutterstock/H_Ko

A 12% increase on short-stay Schengen visas (type c visa) will come into effect from June 11 this year. After the implementation, the fee for children (6 to 12 years) will be 45 euros as opposed to 40 euros in the past. Adults will have to pay 90 euros instead of 80. Those with short-stay visas can be in the Schengen area for up to 90 days. It does not permit employment or business activities. 
Generally, the Schengen visa fee is revised once in three years. The European Union also has plans to introduce digital Schengen visas. This allows the applicants from the Schengen region to apply for the visa online without considering the areas they wish to visit. Besides, a digital visa would be provided instead of the sticker that is pasted on the passport. As per the information provided on the website of the European Commission, the digital platform will be launched in 2028.
The Schengen visa includes permission to enter 26 countries - Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland. They follow a unified short-stay visa policy.

The comments posted here/below/in the given space are not on behalf of Onmanorama. The person posting the comment will be in sole ownership of its responsibility. According to the central government's IT rules, obscene or offensive statement made against a person, religion, community or nation is a punishable offense, and legal action would be taken against people who indulge in such activities.