SIIMA 2019 Malayalam: Mohanlal, Tovino, Aishwarya win big

Mohanlal, Tovino, Prithviraj, Trisha and Aishwarya Lekshmi at SIIMA

The nominations for SIIMA Awards 2019 (Malayalam) was unveiled a month ago and an online voting was held to select the big winners. The winners of Malayalam were finally announced last night in a starry function held at Doha.

The year gone by was indeed a glorious and a prestigious one for Malayalam cinema and looks like the industry is indeed scaling newer heights. SIIMA Awards honours the big talents and movies of the South Indian cinema. While Telugu and Kannada winners were announced a day before, now the Malayalam and Tamil winners have also come out.

While Tovino Thomas managed to bag the best actor award, Aishwarya Lekshmi took home the award for best actress. The best film went for Sudani from Nigeria directed by Zakariya, who also won the best director award.

Take a look at the list of winners here.

Best actor: Tovino Thomas for Ente Ummante Peru/Theevandi

Best actress: Aishwarya Lekshmi for Varathan

Best film: Sudani from Nigeria

Most popular star: Mohanlal

Best actress critics: Trisha for Hey Jude

Best actor critics: Prithviraj for Koode

Best director: Sathyan Anthikkad for Njan Prakashan

Best debut director: Zakariya for Sudani from Nigeria

Best debut actor: Pranav Mohanlal for Aadhi

Best debut actress: Saniya Iyappan for Queen

Best actress in a supporting role: Lena for Aadhi

Best actor in supporting role: Roshan Mathew

Best actor in negative role: Sharafudheen for Varathan

Best comedian: Aju Varghese for Aravindante Athidhikal

Best female playback singer: Sithara Krishnakumar for Maarivil from Eeda

Best male playback singer: Vijay Yesudas for Poomuthole from Joseph

Best music director: Sushin Shyam for Varathan

Best lyricist: Vinayak Sasikumar for Nilapakshikal from Maradona

Best cinematographer: Gireesh Gangadharan for Swathanthryam Ardharathriyil

Life Time Achievement Award: Suresh Kumar and Menaka Suresh Kumar