Mazhavil Music Awards 2022 to be telecast on Dec 24-25

Mazhavil Music Awards
Several prominent musicians will come together during the award night. Photo: Mazhavil Manorama

The annual Mazhavil Music Awards to celebrate talents from within the entertainment industry will be telecast on December 24 and December 25. This year's gala will be marked by special programmes featuring prominent personalities from the world of music.

A musical tribute will also be paid to legendary singer Lata Mangeskhkar by KS Chithra and Sujatha Mohan. Sreekumaran Thampi, who has delighted generations of Malayalis with his beautiful lyrical compositions, will be conferred with a Lifetime Achievement Award. Singers P Jayachandran, Chitra, Swetha Mohan and Vijay Yesudas will pay rich tributes to the music director.

Actor Jayaram will entertain the audience with fast numbers and a couple of melodious songs from the past.

A mimicry performance will also be staged by him on the first day of the event. Ramesh Pisharody will host a special programme titled 'Meeting of Generations', wherein singers Jayachandran, Chitra, Sujatha, Swetha, Vijay and Sharreth will perform.

A family performance by Sujatha, Swetha and Mohan is expected to be the highlight of the awards ceremony.  Jayachandran and Chitra will perform the first duet at the event, followed by a medley by Vijay and Swetha.

Sharreth and Swetha will also perform medley. Young singers Hari Shankar and Nithya Menon will also perform a duet. To celebrate the spirit of Christmas, music director Alphons Joseph will perform a western fusion and Christmas-themed songs.

Folk numbers by award-winning singer Nanjiyamma and Stephen Devassy will be the added attraction, while music sensation Arya Dhayal will perform a Carnatic fusion with Stephen Devassy. Songwriters and rap artists Indulekha Warrier and Fejo will also stage a rap medley at the event.

Solo special performances by Benny Dhayal, Haricharan and Hari Sankar will also be held as part of the event.

No event will be complete without some peppy dance numbers. A wedding-themed dance by Anu Sithara, Swasika and Sarayu will be staged during the event, while Kukku and Tanvi Ram will deliver a power-packed performance.

The awards will be announced at the second day of the event. The event will be telecast at 7 pm on December 24 and December 25.

The comments posted here/below/in the given space are not on behalf of Onmanorama. The person posting the comment will be in sole ownership of its responsibility. According to the central government's IT rules, obscene or offensive statement made against a person, religion, community or nation is a punishable offense, and legal action would be taken against people who indulge in such activities.