Here are the changes introduced in the new tax regime

A tax of 5% would be levied on total income between Rs 3 lakh and Rs 6 lakh, a 10% tax would be imposed on income between Rs 6 lakh to Rs 9 lakh, it would be 15% on income between the range of Rs 9 lakh to Rs 12 lakh, as per the new regime.

New Delhi: Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman on Wednesday tweaked the slabs to provide some relief to the middle class by announcing that no tax would be levied on annual income of up to Rs 7 lakh under the new tax regime.

She also allowed a Rs 50,000 standard deduction to taxpayers under the new regime, where assessees cannot claim deductions or exemptions on their investments.

She also tweaked the concessional tax regime, which was originally introduced in 2020-21, by hiking the tax exemption limit by Rs 50,000 to Rs 3 lakh and reducing the number of slabs to five.

In the Budget for 2023-24, Sitharaman said currently individuals with a total income of up to Rs 5 lakh do not pay any tax due to rebates under both the old and new regimes.

Click here to calculate your tax under the new regime.

"It is proposed to increase the rebate for the resident individual under the new regime so that they do not pay tax if their total income is up to Rs 7 lakh," Sitharaman said.

She further said under the new personal income tax regime, the number of slabs would be reduced to five.

"I propose to change the tax structure in this regime by reducing the number of slabs to five and increasing the tax exemption limit to Rs 3 lakh," Sitharaman said.

Under the revamped concessional tax regime, no tax would be levied for income up to Rs 3 lakh. Income between Rs 3-6 lakh would be taxed at 5 per cent; Rs 6-9 lakh at 10 per cent, Rs 9-12 lakh at 15 per cent, Rs 12-15 lakh at 20 per cent and income of Rs 15 lakh and above will be taxed at 30 per cent.

"I propose to extend the benefit of the standard deduction to the new tax regime. Each salaried person with an income of Rs 15.5 lakh or more will thus stand to benefit by Rs 52,500," Sitharaman said

The government in Budget 2020-21 brought in an optional income tax regime, under which individuals and Hindu Undivided Families (HUFs) were to be taxed at lower rates if they did not avail of specified exemptions and deductions, like house rent allowance (HRA), interest on home loan, investments made under Section 80C, 80D and 80CCD. Under this, total income up to Rs 2.5 lakh was tax-exempt.

Currently, a 5 per cent tax is levied on total income between Rs 2.5 lakh and Rs 5 lakh, 10 per cent on Rs 5 lakh to Rs 7.5 lakh, 15 per cent on Rs 7.5 lakh to Rs 10 lakh, 20 per cent on Rs 10 lakh to Rs 12.5 lakh, 25 per cent on Rs 12.5 lakh to Rs 15 lakh, and 30 per cent on above Rs 15 lakh.

The scheme, however, has not gained traction as in several cases it resulted in a higher tax burden.

With effect from April 1, these slabs will be modified as per the Budget announcement.

Tax slab under new tax regime

  • Rs 3 to 6 lakh - 5%
  • Rs 6 to 9 lakh - 10%
  • Rs 9 to 12 lakh - 15%
  • Rs 12 to 15 lakh - 20%
  • Above Rs 15 lakh – 30%

Tax slab under old tax regime

  • Rebate till Rs 2.5 lakh
  • Rs 2.5 to Rs 5 lakh: 5%
  • Rs 5 to Rs 7.5 lakh: 15%
  • Rs 7.5 to Rs 10 lakh: 20%
  • Above Rs 10 lakh: 30%

But one needs to opt for the new tax regime to get the benefit of the new tax slabs. At present, individuals can opt to be taxed via the old scheme or new scheme. If in case an assessor chooses neither scheme, they will be taxed under that new tax regime, as per the budget.

(With PTI inputs)

The comments posted here/below/in the given space are not on behalf of Onmanorama. The person posting the comment will be in sole ownership of its responsibility. According to the central government's IT rules, obscene or offensive statement made against a person, religion, community or nation is a punishable offense, and legal action would be taken against people who indulge in such activities.