Pettimudi landslide survivors to receive title deeds on Nov 1

Debris lie on the ground after a landslide due to heavy rainfall in the area, in Idukki district, Friday, Aug. 7, 2020. (PTI Photo)

Munnar: Eight families who miraculously survived in the Pettimudi landslide tragedy will be given land in Kuttiyar Valley on Sunday.

A special team constituted under the direction of Collector, prepared the list of eight beneficiary families after carrying out proper verification.

Five cents of land will be given to each family, who were staying in line houses that got destroyed in the tragedy. The beneficiaries are; Malayammal, Murukeshwari Murukesan, P Deepan, P Ganeshan, N Murukan, Karupayi Shanmugaiah, Seethalakshmi Kannan and Saraswathi Rassaiah. They lost their houses and property in the horrific tragedy.

Power Minister MM Mani will hand over title deeds and other documents of the land earmarked for them at Kuttiyar Valley, at a function to be held at 9.30 am on Sunday. The stone laying ceremony for the houses to be constructed in the allotted land will also take place on the same day. 

Kannan Devan Hills Plantation Company has sanctioned Rs 1 crore for the construction of houses for the eight families.

Four persons yet to be traced

Four persons who are suspected to have died in the Pettimudi tragedy are yet to be traced. The government has issued an order including P Kasthuri, K Karthika, P Priyadarshini and Dinesh Kumar in the list of the dead.  

The Pettimudi disaster took place on August 6 this year.

The comments posted here/below/in the given space are not on behalf of Onmanorama. The person posting the comment will be in sole ownership of its responsibility. According to the central government's IT rules, obscene or offensive statement made against a person, religion, community or nation is a punishable offense, and legal action would be taken against people who indulge in such activities.