8 candidates in Thrikkakara bypoll fray

Elections to seven local body wards on Jan 21

Ernakulam: In all eight candidates, including three of the major political fronts in Kerala, will vie for the people's mandate in the May 31 Thrikkakara assembly bypoll.

Monday was the last date to withdraw nominations filed by candidates. The deadline ended at 5 pm.

The name of the Congress candidate Uma Thomas will appear first on the ballot. She will be followed by Jo Joseph of the CPM. The BJP candidate AN Radhakrishnan will be at the third slot.

The notification for the bypoll was issued on May 4. The last day for filing nominations was May 11.

Counting of votes will take place on June 3.

The comments posted here/below/in the given space are not on behalf of Onmanorama. The person posting the comment will be in sole ownership of its responsibility. According to the central government's IT rules, obscene or offensive statement made against a person, religion, community or nation is a punishable offense, and legal action would be taken against people who indulge in such activities.