Brathwaite to lead West Indies in Test series against India

Kraigg Brathwaite
Kraigg Brathwaite will continue to be at the helm. File photo: AFP/William West

Antigua: Red-ball specialist batter Kraigg Brathwaite will continue to lead the side as Cricket West Indies (CWI) announced an 18-member squad for the preparatory camp ahead of the two-match Test series against India.

The camp begins at Coolidge Cricket Ground in Antigua on Friday with the team travelling to Dominica on July 9.

The opening Test begins on July 12 in Dominica, with the second Test scheduled from July 20 in Trinidad's Queen's Park Oval.

It will be followed by the three-match ODI series, starting on July 27, and a five-match T20I series beginning on August 3.

"CWI Men's Selection Panel today named the 18-member squad for the preparation camp ahead of the start of the two-match Test series against India in the Caribbean," CWI said on its Twitter handle.

With the West Indies currently playing in the ICC World Cup Qualifier, some senior members have not been named in the squad for the camp.

Among the absentees are Jason Holder, Alzarri Joseph and Kyle Mayers, while Kavem Hodge, Alick Athanaze and Jair McAllister are the new faces.

Squad: Kraigg Brathwaite (capt), Alick Athanaze, Jermaine Blackwood, Nkrumah Bonner, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Rahkeem Cornwall, Joshua Da Silva, Shannon Gabriel, Kavem Hodge, Akeem Jordan, Jair McAllister, Kirk McKenzie, Marquino Mindley, Anderson Phillip, Raymon Reifer, Kemar Roach, Jayden Seales, Jomel Warrican. 

The comments posted here/below/in the given space are not on behalf of Onmanorama. The person posting the comment will be in sole ownership of its responsibility. According to the central government's IT rules, obscene or offensive statement made against a person, religion, community or nation is a punishable offense, and legal action would be taken against people who indulge in such activities.