Only 2 from world champions Australia in ICC Team of the Tournament, six from India

Rohit Sharma
Indian captain Rohit Sharma during a practice session in Ahmedabad on Saturday. Photo: PTI/Manvender Vashist Lav

Six Indians have been included in the International Cricket Council's (ICC) Team of the Tournament for the Men's Cricket World Cup.

Australia, which won the World Cup on Sunday defeating hosts India by 6 wickets at Ahmedabad, has only two players in the XI announced by ICC.

Glenn Maxwell, who smashed an unbeaten 201 against Afghanistan and the fastest World Cup century (off 40 balls) against the Netherlands, has found a place alongside teammate Adam Zampa, who was the champions' leading wicket-taker (23).

Pacer Mohammed Shami, who was the leading wicket-taker in the tournament with 24, features in the list alongside fellow Indians Jasprit Bumrah, Ravindra Jadeja, KL Rahul and Virat Kohli, besides Rohit, who has been named the captain of the best XI.

One player each from South Africa (Quinton de Kock), New Zealand (Daryl Mitchell) and Sri Lanka (Dilshan Madushanka) also find spots in the ICC XI.

ICC Team of the Tournament
Quinton de Kock (SA)
Rohit Sharma (Ind) (capt)
Virat Kohli (Ind)
Daryl Mitchell (NZ)
KL Rahul (Ind)
Glenn Maxwell (Aus)
Ravindra Jadeja (Ind)
Jasprit Bumrah (Ind)
Dilshan Madushanka (SL)
Adam Zampa (Aus)
Mohammed Shami (Ind)

The comments posted here/below/in the given space are not on behalf of Onmanorama. The person posting the comment will be in sole ownership of its responsibility. According to the central government's IT rules, obscene or offensive statement made against a person, religion, community or nation is a punishable offense, and legal action would be taken against people who indulge in such activities.