Kerala Blasters among five ISL clubs to be denied AFC licence

Kerala Blasters among five ISL clubs to be denied AFC licence
Representational image

Kolkata: Newest entrants in the Indian Super League, SC East Bengal, along with Odisha FC, NorthEast United FC, Kerala Blasters FC and Hyderabad FC have failed to meet the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) and national licensing criteria.

East Bengal on Monday said they have applied for club licensing exemption for the 2020-21 season.

"We have requested for an exemption to participate in the National Competition from the Club Licensing committee," a club official told PTI on conditions of anonymity.

"We were not able to comply with documents pertaining to the 2019-2020 season for different criteria but have submitted all documents which were in our control. We are hopeful that the committee will take the best decision for the club."

FC Goa, ATK Mohun Bagan, Bengaluru FC, Jamshedpur FC, Chennaiyin FC and Mumbai City FC have successfully secured the AFC and National licences for the 2020-21 season.

Any club which failed to secure AFC License will not be able to take part in continental tournaments like AFC Champions League and AFC Cup even if they qualify from the ISL.

For clubs to get license, they need to fulfill five main criterias -- sporting, infrastructure, personnel and administrative, legal and financial. Each division has further sub-divisions. 

The comments posted here/below/in the given space are not on behalf of Onmanorama. The person posting the comment will be in sole ownership of its responsibility. According to the central government's IT rules, obscene or offensive statement made against a person, religion, community or nation is a punishable offense, and legal action would be taken against people who indulge in such activities.