Higher education sector set for overhaul, 3 commissions constituted

R Bindu

Thiruvananthapuram: The higher education sector in the state is set for a complete overhaul.Higher Education Minister R Bindu said that three commissions have been constituted to submit recommendations on reforms in the sector.

A seven-member higher education commission to submit recommendations on reforming the higher education sector; a five-member commission to reform university laws and four-member commission to revamp the conduct of university exams have been constituted.

The panels have to submit reports within three months and the changes will be based on this. The syllabus of the undergraduate and post-graduate courses will be updated. The existing rules and norms would be reformed to be in tune with the possibilities of the digital era. Courses will change to include offline and online classes.

The evaluation method even in exams will be completely changed. Online mode would also be made a permanent fixture in exams. Also, measures would be initiated to increase the research facilities, seat availability, and new timely courses. The proportion of the students securing higher education would be raised from 37 per cent to 75 per cent.

The university departments and centres would be made centres of excellence. There would be fellowships to which scholars from within and outside the country can apply.

Dr Shyam B Menon, former Vice Chancellor of the Ambedkar University, is the chairman of the higher education commission. Dr T Pradeep, physics department director at the IIT Madras, has been appointed the convenor. The other members are MG University Vice Chancellor Dr Sabu Thomas, JNU professor Dr Ayesha Kidwai, Planning Board member professor Ramkumar, Kannur University Pro-Vice Chancellor Dr Sabu Abdul Hameed; and former Calicut University professor M V Narayanan.

Dr N K Jayakumar, former Vice Chancellor of the National University of Advanced Legal Studies (NUALS), is the chairman of the university law reforms commission. The members are Kannur University Vice Chancellor Dr Gopinath Ravindran; higher education council governing body member Dr Joy Job Kulavelil, Malappuram Government College principal Dr K Damodaran, and High Court advocate P C Sasidharan.

MG University Pro-Vice Chancellor Dr C T Aravindakumar is the chairman of the Commission on exams. Technological University registrar Dr A Praveen, former Calicut University registrar Dr C L Joshi and Kerala University registrar Dr K S Anil Kumar are the members.


The comments posted here/below/in the given space are not on behalf of Onmanorama. The person posting the comment will be in sole ownership of its responsibility. According to the central government's IT rules, obscene or offensive statement made against a person, religion, community or nation is a punishable offense, and legal action would be taken against people who indulge in such activities.