Pinarayi 2.0 govt in Kerala to have 21 ministers, KC (M) to get Chief Whip post

A Vijayaraghavan

Thiruvananthapuram: The Left Democratic Front (LDF) will form a 21-member cabinet in Kerala, LDF Convenor A Vijayaraghavan informed.

A decision on portfolio allocation has been left to the chief minister.

The CPM will have 12 ministers and the CPI will have four berths.

The Kerala Congress (M), Janata Dal (S) and Nationalist Congress Party will have one minister each.

Two cabinet berths will be shared by four allies on a rotation basis, with each of them getting 2.5 years.

Ahammad Devekovil (Indian National League) and Antony Raju (Janadhipathya Kerala Congress) will become the ministers in the first two-and-a-half-years. In the second half of the government Ramachandran Kadannappally (Congress-S) and K B Ganesh Kumar (Kerala Congress-B) will become ministers.

Kanam Rajendran, Pinarayi Vijayan and Jose K Mani
Kanam Rajendran, Pinarayi Vijayan and Jose K Mani (from left to right)

The LDF is sharing cabinet berths on a rotational basis for the first time. CPM leaders said the precedent was set to accommodate as many possible allies in the cabinet, since 11 parties now constitute the Front.

Kerala Congress (M), which demanded two cabinet seats, has also been offered the post of the Chief Whip with cabinet rank.

The speaker will be from CPM and deputy speaker will be from CPI.

A meeting of the Kerala Congress (M) chaired by Jose K Mani selected Roshy Augustine as its parliamentary party leader. Though no official announcement has been made, he is most likely to be given the cabinet berth allotted to the party. N Jayaraj is likely to be given the cabinet rank post of chief whip.

AC Moideen and KK Shailaja are the only ministers likely to continue from the first Pinarayi ministry, Manorama News reported.

NCP will decide its ministerial candidate on Tuesday. Former Prime Minister Deve Gowda will announce the minister from JD(S).

P A Mohammed Riyas, V Sivankutty, Veena George, KN Balagopal, VN Vasavan, Saji Cherian, P Rajeev, K Radhakrishnan, P Nandakumar, MV Govindan are among the probable ministers from CPM camp according to Manorama News reports.

The CPI leadership is expected to hold a meeting and decide its ministers on Tuesday.

The comments posted here/below/in the given space are not on behalf of Onmanorama. The person posting the comment will be in sole ownership of its responsibility. According to the central government's IT rules, obscene or offensive statement made against a person, religion, community or nation is a punishable offense, and legal action would be taken against people who indulge in such activities.