Pinarayi Vijayan in the saddle as Kerala's Captain


Thiruvananthapuram: CPM leader Pinarayi Vijayan on Thursday took oath as the Chief Minister of Kerala for the second time. 

Governor Arif Mohammad Khan administered the oath of office and secrecy at the specially set up marquee in the Central Stadium behind the State secretariat. 

The ministers took oath in the following order: K Rajan, Roshy Augustine,  K Krishnan Kutty, AK Saseendran, Ahmed Devarkovil, Antony Raju,V Abdurahman, G R Anil, K N Balagopal, R Bindu,J Chinchu Rani, MV Govindan, P A Mohammed Riyas, P Prasad, K Radhakrisjhnan, P Rajeev, Saji Cheriyan, V Sivankutty, VN Vasavan and Veena George. 

Pinarayi Vijayan takes oath as Kerala's Chief Minister.
Pinarayi Vijayan takes oath as Kerala's Chief Minister.

While 15 ministers including the chief minister took oath in the name of the Indian Constitution, five took it in the name of God. Representative of the Indian National League in the CPI(M)-led ministry, Ahamed Devarkovil, took oath in the name of Allah.

A music video on the second coming of the LDF government compiled by musicians and actors across Kerala was played at the beginning of the ceremony. The musical, involving 52 singers and musicians, was projected on a 140-ft LED screen placed on the dais before the oath-taking ceremony.

The video was produced by Kerala Media Academy and Public Relations Department. The video directed by TK Rajeev Kumar was based on the theme 'Randaamoozham' (second chance). Ramesh Narayanan directed the music and RS Babu is the Project Coordinator. 

The 21-member second Pinarayi Vijayan-led cabinet includes 17 first-time ministers.

The swearing-in is a historic one in Kerala’s political history with Vijayan being the first leader to head the cabinet consecutively for two terms. A Front getting a second consecutive term, too, is a first in recent times.

Preparations for swearing-in ceremony underway at Central Stadium, Thiruvananthapuram. Photo: Rinku Raj

The new cabinet met at the Secretariat after a tea party hosted by the governor at the Raj Bhavan.

Congratulating Vijayan, Prime Minister Narendra Modi tweeted: "Congratulations to Shri @vijayanpinarayi Ji on taking oath as CM and commencing his second term in office."
Vijayan was also greeted by new Tamil Nadu Chief Minister M K Stalin who led the DMK-Congress alliance to a thumping win in the April 6 assembly polls.
"Best wishes to my brother @vijayanpinarayi on his swearing in as @CMOKerala and I hope that his determination and perseverance will lead to social equality, peace and prosperity for the people," Stalin said in a tweet.

CM, Minister-designates at Vayalar 

Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan and other minister-designates from CPM reached the Vayalar Martyr's Column in Kerala's Alappuzha on Thursday ahead of the swearing-in ceremony. 

A video showing past chief minister's being played and tested on the stage ahead of the event at Central Stadium, Thiruvananthapuram. Photo: Rinku Raj

Designate speaker MB Rajesh and LDF Convenor A Vijayaraghavan were also present.

The CPM leaders paid floral tribute to the martyrs at the Vayalar Martyrs’ Column and Punnapra-Vayalar Martyrs’ Memorial.

Preparations for swearing-in underway at Central Stadium, Thiruvananthapuram. Photo: Manorama

Though non-BJP chief ministers have been invited for the oath-taking ceremony, they have conveyed their inability to travel due to the existing COVID-19 situation.

Thangam Thennarasu, Minister for Industries in Tamil Nadu, is likely to represent his state government. West Bengal, too, is sending its representative.

Less than 500 invitees, including CPM general secretary Sitaram Yechury, politburo members and prominent leaders, outgoing ministers and LDF MLAs, are likely to witness the ceremony.

UDF MLAs and leaders will boycott the ceremony in protest against the violation of the triple lockdown clamped on Thiruvananthapuram. They, however, watched the ceremony online.

The comments posted here/below/in the given space are not on behalf of Onmanorama. The person posting the comment will be in sole ownership of its responsibility. According to the central government's IT rules, obscene or offensive statement made against a person, religion, community or nation is a punishable offense, and legal action would be taken against people who indulge in such activities.