FIFA World Cup 2022: Groups & schedule

WC trophy & ball
The FIFA World Cup trophy and the official 2022 World Cup ball called Al-Rihla are seen on stage during the draw. Photo: AFP/Karim Jaffar

The battle lines have been drawn for the 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar. The 32 teams have been divided into eight groups of four, although some of the teams are to be decided with one European and two inter-continental play-offs still to be played.


Four games will be played each day during the group-stage action that runs for 12 days.


The winners and runners-up of each group progress to the last 16.


The groups


Group A: Qatar, Ecuador, Senegal, Netherlands


Group B: England, Iran, USA, European play-off winners


Group C: Argentina, Saudi Arabia, Mexico, Poland


Group D: France, inter-continental play-off 1 winners, Denmark, Tunisia


Group E: Spain, inter-continental play-off 2 winners, Germany, Japan


Group F: Belgium, Canada, Morocco, Croatia


Group G: Brazil, Serbia, Switzerland, Cameroon


Group H: Portugal, Ghana, Uruguay, South Korea.




Monday, November 21


Group A: Qatar vs Ecuador, Senegal vs Netherlands


Group B: England vs Iran, USA vs Scotland/Wales/Ukraine


Tuesday, November 22

Group C: Argentina vs Saudi Arabia, Mexico vs Poland


Group D: France vs UAE/Australia/Peru, Denmark vs Tunisia


Wednesday, November 23

Group E: Spain vs Costa Rica/New Zealand, Germany vs Japan


Group F: Belgium vs Canada, Morocco vs Croatia


Thursday, November 24

Group G: Brazil vs Serbia, Switzerland vs Cameroon


Group H: Portugal vs Ghana, Uruguay vs South Korea


Friday, November 25

Group A: Qatar vs Senegal, Netherlands vs Ecuador


Group B: England vs USA, Scotland/Wales/Ukraine vs Iran


Saturday, November 26

Group C: Argentina vs Mexico, Poland vs Saudi Arabia


Group D: France vs Denmark, Tunisia vs UAE/Australia/Peru


Sunday, November 27

Group E: Spain vs Germany, Japan vs Costa Rica/New Zealand


Group F: Belgium vs Morocco, Croatia vs Canada


Monday, November 28

Group G: Brazil vs Switzerland, Cameroon vs Serbia


Group H: Portugal vs Uruguay, South Korea vs Ghana


Tuesday, November 29

Group A: Netherlands vs Qatar, Ecuador vs Senegal


Group B: Scotland/Wales/Ukraine vs England, Iran vs USA


Wednesday, November 30

Group C: Poland vs Argentina, Saudi Arabia vs Mexico


Group D: Tunisia vs France, UAE/Australia/Peru vs Denmark


Thursday, December 1

Group E: Japan vs Spain, Costa Rica/New Zealand vs Germany


Group F: Croatia vs Belgium, Canada vs Morocco


Friday, December 2

Group G: Cameroon vs Brazil, Serbia vs Switzerland


Group H: South Korea vs Portugal, Ghana vs Uruguay


The venues and kick-off times for the knockout rounds have already been assigned.


Round of 16


Saturday, December 3


Game 49: Winners of Group A vs runners-up of Group B (Khalifa International Stadium, Al Rayyan; 8.30 pm)


Sunday, December 4


Game 50: Winners of Group C vs runners-up of Group D (Ahmed bin Ali Stadium, Al Rayyan; 12.30 am)


Game 51: Winners of Group D vs runners-up of Group C (Al Thumama Stadium, Doha; 8.30 pm)


Monday, December 5

Game 52: Winners of Group B vs runners-up of Group A (Al Bayt Stadium, Al Khor; 12.30 am)


Game 53: Winners of Group E vs runners-up of Group F (Al Janoub Stadium, Al Wakrah; 8.30 pm)


Tuesday, December 6


Game 54: Winners of Group G vs runners-up of Group H (Ras Abu Aboud Stadium, Doha; 12.30 am


Game 55: Winners of Group F vs runners-up of Group E (Education City Stadium, Al Rayyan; 8.30 pm)


Wednesday, December 7


Game 56: Winners of Group H vs runners-up of Group G (Lusail Iconic Stadium, Lusail; 12.30 am)



Friday, December 9

Game 57: Winners of 53 vs. Winners of 54 (Education City Stadium, Al Rayyan; 18.30 pm)


Saturday, December 10


Game 58: Winners of 49 vs. Winners of 50 (Lusail Iconic Stadium, Lusail; 12.30 am)


Game 59: Winners of game 55 vs winners of game 56 (Al Thumama Stadium, Doha; 8.30 pm)


Sunday, December 11


Game 60: Winners of game 51 vs winners of game 52 (Al Bayt Stadium, Al Khor; 12.30 am



Wednesday, December 14

Game 61: Winners of game 57 vs winners of game 58 (Lusail Iconic Stadium, Lusail; 12.30 am)


Thursday, December 15

Game 62: Winners of game 59 vs winners of game 60 (Al Bayt Stadium, Al Khor; 12.30 am)


Third-place play-off

Saturday, December 17

Game 63: Losers of game 61 vs losers of game 62 (Khalifa International Stadium, Al Rayyan; 8.30 pm)



Sunday, December 18

Game 64: Winners of game 61 vs winners of game 62 (Lusail Iconic Stadium, Lusail; 8.30 pm)

(All timings in IST)

The comments posted here/below/in the given space are not on behalf of Onmanorama. The person posting the comment will be in sole ownership of its responsibility. According to the central government's IT rules, obscene or offensive statement made against a person, religion, community or nation is a punishable offense, and legal action would be taken against people who indulge in such activities.