Kerala Premier League: Kerala United crowned champions

Kerala United players celebrate with the Kerala Premier League trophy in Wayanad on Sunday. Photo: Special arrangement

Wayanad: Kerala United FC were crowned champions of Kerala Premier League after a 1-0 win over Gokulam Kerala FC at Kalpetta here on Sunday.

An own goal scored by Gokulam defender Akhil J Chandran in the 78th minute proved to be the difference in the title match.

Kerala United's Ezekiel Oroh was declared the player-of-the-tournament. Gokulam Kerala's skipper Samuel Mensah Konney, who scored 10 goals in the tournament, was announced as the top scorer.

Akhil Chandran of Gokulam and Pratheesh V of Kerala United were declared the best defender and best goalkeeper of the tournament respectively.

The comments posted here/below/in the given space are not on behalf of Onmanorama. The person posting the comment will be in sole ownership of its responsibility. According to the central government's IT rules, obscene or offensive statement made against a person, religion, community or nation is a punishable offense, and legal action would be taken against people who indulge in such activities.