Here are the countries that banned entry for travellers from India

COVID-19 impact: 8.7 lakh expats returned to Kerala, half of them due to job loss
Image for representation: Passengers at an airport

New Delhi: Several countries have tightened the restrictions on travellers from India in view of the rapid spread of the COVID-19 pandemic. Some of these nations have even imposed a total travel ban. 

Even though regular air travel is yet to resume after lockdowns came into effect, India had entered into ‘Air Bubble’ agreements with 28 countries to conduct limited flight services. However, many of these schedules also have been banned now. The following are the countries that have introduced new restrictions:

UAE: The United Arab Emirates (UAE) has banned all travellers from India from entering the country in its latest move to combat the COVID-19 pandemic. The decision will be effective from April 24 for the next ten days.

Further decision will be made after re-examining the situation.

United Kingdom: After the UK listed India among the countries that are the worst-affected by the pandemic, it has announced a total ban on entry of Indian citizens from April 23. As a result, Air India has cancelled all flights connecting India and the UK from April 24 to 30. On these days, the UK would allow entry only to British and Irish citizens.

United States of America: The USA has issued an advisory to its citizens, including those who have been vaccinated, to avoid travelling to India. Presently, Air India and Vistara conduct flight services to the USA.

Singapore: Travellers from India would be quarantined for 14 days at a government facility and another seven days in their houses.

New Zealand: The country has imposed a total ban on the entry of travellers from India for two weeks.

Pakistan: A two-week entry ban has been announced by Pakistan too for travellers from India.

Hong Kong: All flight services between India and Hong Kong cancelled for two weeks.

Canada: Canada has also suspended all passenger flights from India and Pakistan for 30 days, citing increased COVID-19 cases detected in travellers arriving from these countries.

Oman: Entry restrictions will be in force for travellers from 6 pm on April 24. However, citizens of Oman, diplomatic personnel, health workers and their families have been given an exception.

Australia: Prime Minister Scott Morrison has announced the suspension of flights from high-risk COVID-19 nations, like India, following an alarming rise in COVID-19 cases across the world.

Kuwait: Kuwait too joined the list of countries that banned flights from India in the wake of the rising covid cases in India and will remain in place until further notice. 

The ban will not do not apply to health workers, domestic workers and diplomats. 

Germany: Germany has also announced a ban on travellers from India. However, German citizens from India are allowed inside the country. 

Maldives: This popular destination for Indian celebrities has banned Indian tourists from entering the country starting from April 27. 

Italy: Italy has declared that neither Indians nor foreigners who have visited India in the last 14 days will be allowed to visit their country.

Qatar: Qatar has made a 10-day hotel quarantine mandatory for Indians, including those who have been vaccinated. The bookings should be made through the discover Qatar website. Those who have been vaccinated also should carry out an RT-PCR test within 48 hours before arriving in the country.

Bangladesh: Bangladesh has closed its borders with India for two weeks from April 27. 

Meanwhile, the Indian embassy in Nepal has advised passengers not to travel to Kathmandu from India only to transit to others parts of the world.


The comments posted here/below/in the given space are not on behalf of Onmanorama. The person posting the comment will be in sole ownership of its responsibility. According to the central government's IT rules, obscene or offensive statement made against a person, religion, community or nation is a punishable offense, and legal action would be taken against people who indulge in such activities.