Several trains cancelled and diverted

A drone view shows derailed coaches after two passenger trains collided in Balasore district in the eastern state of Odisha, India, June 3, 2023. Photo: Reuters/Stringer

Kolkata: As many as 43 trains remain cancelled and 38 are diverted following the Odisha train tragedy on Friday evening, according to Manorama News.

The trains starting from various locations were intended to pass through the Balasore stretch where 261 persons have been killed and around 650 injured, following several coaches of the Shalimar-Chennai Coromandel express train derailed near the Bahanaga railway station in Odisha's Balasore district.

One train from Kerala cancelled, another diverted
The Trivandrum Central - Shalimar biweekly superfast (22641) which was supposed to start its service on at 4.55 pm on Saturday has been cancelled. The Kanyakumari - Dibrugarh Vivek Superfast (22503) will be diverted in Andhra Pradesh, between Vijayanagara and Kharagpur.  A special train has started from Bhubaneshwar to Chennai, with survivors of the train accident. 

Other cancelled trains
The following are some of the other trains scheduled to commence their journey on Friday and Saturday, but will remain cancelled according to the latest bulletin released by the Indian Railways, according to IANS.

"12837 Howrah-Puri Express; 12863 Howrah-Sir M. Visvesvaraya Terminal Express; 12839 Howrah-Chennai Mail; 12895 Shalimar-Puri Superfast Express; 20831 Shalimar-Sambalpur Express; 02837 Santragachi-Puri Special; 22201 Sealdah-Puri Duronto Express, 12509 SMVT Bengaluru-Guwahati from Bangalore, all trains intended to commence their journey on Friday (June 2) are cancelled."

12074 Bhubaneswar-Howrah Jan Shatabdi Express from Bhubaneswar; 12073 Howrah-Bhubaneswar Jan Shatabdi Express from Howrah; 12278 Puri-Howrah Shatabdi Express from Puri; 12277 Howrah-Puri Shatabdi Express from Howrah; 12822 Puri-Shalimar Dhauli Express from Puri; 12821 ShalimarPuri Dhauli Express from Shalimar; 12892 Puri-Bangiriposi from Puri; 12891 Bangiriposi-Puri Express from Bangiriposi; 02838 Puri-Santragachhi Special from Puri; 12842 Chennai-Shalimar Coromandel Express from Chennai trains which were intended to commence their journey on June 3 (Saturday) have also been cancelled.

The following trains will be diverted via Tatanagar as per the official press release. 22807 Santragachi-Chennai Express; 22873 Digha-Visakhapatnam Express; 18409 Shalimar-Puri Sri Jagannath Express; 22817 Howrah-Mysuru Express journey commencing on June 2 will be diverted via Tatanagar.

12802 New Delhi-Puri Purusottam Express from New Delhi commenced journey on June 1 will run via Tata-Kendujhargarh.

18478 Rishikesh-Puri Kalinga Utkal Express from Rishikesh began its journey on June 1 will run via Tata-Kendujhargarh.

12815 Puri-Anand Vihar (new Delhi) Nandankanan Express from Puri on June 3 will run via Jakhapura-Jaroli.

08415 Jaleswar-Puri Special from Jaleswar on June 3 will originate from Bhadrak instead of Jaleswar, according to the latest official bulletin, said IANS.

The incident
Around 7.20 pm on Friday, the Coromandel, Bengaluru-Howrah Express trains derailed and hit a goods train at Bahanaga station in Odisha's Balasore district. Manorama News reported that there were four Malayalis as well in the Coromandel Express, but they escaped with minor injuries.

As per reports many got trapped inside and outside the coaches, which overturned. Railway minister Ashwini Vaishnaw was at the accident spot on Saturday morning and said that a high-level probe has been initiated into the incident.  

(With inputs from IANS)

The comments posted here/below/in the given space are not on behalf of Onmanorama. The person posting the comment will be in sole ownership of its responsibility. According to the central government's IT rules, obscene or offensive statement made against a person, religion, community or nation is a punishable offense, and legal action would be taken against people who indulge in such activities.