Six win Young Scientist Awards; to get research grant of Rs 50 lakh

Dr Achu Chandran, Dr K M Ambili, Dr Anjineyulu Kothakota, Dr Arvind Madhavan, Dr R Dhanya, and Dr Noel Jacob Kaleekkal. Photo: Manorama Online

Thiruvananthapuram: Six scientists from different disciplines have won the Young Scientist Award instituted by the Kerala State Council for Science, Technology, and Environment (KCCSTE) in recognition of their outstanding contributions to science and technology.

The winners of the award carrying a cash prize of Rs 50,000 are Dr Achu Chandran (CSIR-NIIST, Thiruvananthapuram), Dr K M Ambili (Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre, Thiruvananthapuram), Dr Anjineyulu Kothakota (CSIR-NIIST, Thiruvananthapuram), Dr Arvind Madhavan (School of Biotechnology, Amrita Vishwa Vidhyapeedam, Kollam), Dr R Dhanya (Rajiv Gandhi Centre for Biotechnology, Thiruvananthapuram), and Dr Noel Jacob Kaleekkal (National Institute of Technology, Kozhikode).

Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan will hand over the awards to the winners at a function to be held at Mar Baselios Christian College of Engineering & Technology, Kuttikakam, Peermade, on February 12.

The recipients may be considered for a research grant of Rs 50 lakh after due consideration of the research project with the help of an expert committee. The awardees will be extended all assistance, including a visit abroad for attending a science conference at the international level.

The comments posted here/below/in the given space are not on behalf of Onmanorama. The person posting the comment will be in sole ownership of its responsibility. According to the central government's IT rules, obscene or offensive statement made against a person, religion, community or nation is a punishable offense, and legal action would be taken against people who indulge in such activities.