Bypolls to three Lok Sabha and 30 Assembly seats on Oct 30, results on Nov 2

Logo sign of Headquarters of the Election Commission of India (Image Courtesy - Mirko Kuzmanovic/Shutterstock)

New Delhi: Bypolls to three Lok Sabha seats and 30 assembly constituencies spread across various states will be held on October 30, the Election Commission announced on Tuesday.

The counting of votes will take place on November 2.

"The Commission has reviewed the situation related to pandemic, flood, festivals, cold conditions in certain regions, feedback from concerned States/UT and taken into consideration all facts and circumstances and it has decided to hold by-elections to fill vacancies in three Parliamentary Constituencies of UT of Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu, Madhya Pradesh, and Himachal Pradesh and 30 vacancies in Assembly constituencies of various states," the EC said in a statement.

Lok Sabha bypolls: (State & Constituency)
UT of UT of Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu - Dadra & Nagar Haveli
Madhya Pradesh - Khandwa
Himachal Pradesh - Mandi

Assembly bypolls: (State & Constituency)
Andhra Pradesh - Badvel (SC)
Assam - Gossaigaon, Bhabanipur, Thowra, Tamulpur, Mariani
Bihar - Kusheshwar Asthan (SC), Tarapur
Haryana - Ellenabad
Himachal Pradesh - Fatehpur, Arki, Jubbal- Kotkhai
Karnataka - Sindgi, Hangal
Madhya Pradesh - Prithvipur, Raigaon (SC), Jobat (ST)
Maharashtra - Deglur (SC)
Meghalaya - Mawryngkneng (ST), Mawphlang (ST), Rajabala
Mizoram - Tuirial (ST)
Nagaland - Shamtorr-Chessore (ST)
Rajasthan - Vallabhnagar, Dhariawad (ST)
Telangana - Huzurabad
West Bengal - Dinhata, Santipur, Khardaha, Gosaba(SC)

Important dates
Date of issue of gazette notification: October 1
Last date of nominations: October 8
Date for scrutiny of nominations: October 11
Last date for withdrawal of candidatures: October 13
Date of poll: October 30
Date of counting: November 2

The comments posted here/below/in the given space are not on behalf of Onmanorama. The person posting the comment will be in sole ownership of its responsibility. According to the central government's IT rules, obscene or offensive statement made against a person, religion, community or nation is a punishable offense, and legal action would be taken against people who indulge in such activities.