Suryakumar, Ishan Kishan, Tewatia get maiden call-up; Sanju dropped

Suryakumar Yadav
Suryakumar Yadav. File photo: BCCI

Indian wicketkeeper Rishabh Pant has been included in the Twenty20 squad for next month's five-match series against England, the BCCI announced on Saturday.

Pant, who was dropped for the limited-overs series in Australia, has been rewarded for his consistent performances with the bat in red-ball cricket.

The swashbuckling 23-year-old produced spectacular fourth innings knocks of 97 and 89 not out in Sydney and Brisbane to help India pull off an epic 2-1 triumph in the Test series against Australia last month.

He also struck half-centuries in the first two Tests of the current four-match series against England. Pant, who replaces Sanju Samson, will hope to cement his spot in the limited-overs side ahead of this year's T20 World Cup.

Batsman Suryakumar Yadav, wicketkeeper Ishan Kishan and 

all-rounder Rahul Tewatia earned a maiden call-up.

Jasprit Bumrah and Ravindra Jadeja have been left out.

India and England are scheduled to play five T20 matches in Ahmedabad, with the opening game to be held on March 12.

Indian squad: Virat Kohli (capt), Rohit Sharma (vice-capt), K L Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Yuzvendra Chahal, Varun Chakravarthy, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Rahul Tewatia, T Natarajan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur.

The comments posted here/below/in the given space are not on behalf of Onmanorama. The person posting the comment will be in sole ownership of its responsibility. According to the central government's IT rules, obscene or offensive statement made against a person, religion, community or nation is a punishable offense, and legal action would be taken against people who indulge in such activities.