Left wins all key posts in JNU Students' Union polls

Left wins all key posts in JNU Students' Union polls

New Delhi: The united front of Left student groups AISA, SFI, AISF, DSF won all the four central panel posts in the Jawaharlal Nehru University Students' Union (JNUSU) polls, the election committee announced on Tuesday.

The grouping's presidential candidate Aishe Ghosh defeated Manish Jangid of the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) by bagging 2,313 votes. Jangid got 1,128 votes.

Saket Moon was elected JNUSU vice president and bagged 3,365 votes. Moon defeated ABVP's Shruti Agnihotri, who got 1,335 votes.

Satish Chandra Yadav was elected general secretary. He polled 2,518 votes to defeat Sabareesh PA, who got 1355 votes.

Md Danish was elected joint secretary with 3,295 votes and he defeated Sumanta Kumar Sahu.

Getting better facilities and more hostels for students, and thwarting any attempt to silence democratic bodies are on the agenda of the newly-elected JNU Students' Union (JNUSU).  

The RSS-affiliated Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) came second on the posts of president, vice president, general secretary and joint secretary.

The grouping had swept the election last year too and its main rival for the polls is the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP).

The results were announced after the Delhi High Court directed the election committee to do so. The court had restricted the varsity from notifying the results.

The voter turnout JNUSU election held on Friday was 67.9 per cent, believed to be the highest in seven years. Over 5,700 students cast their votes.

The Congress-affiliated NSUI said it has seen a "massive" improvement in its vote share in the Jawaharlal Nehru University Students' Union (JNUSU) polls from 2017.

Last week, ABVP maintained their status quo at Delhi University by emerging as winners in Students' Union polls. The RSS-affiliated group won 3 out of the 4 posts, while the Congress-backed NSUI bagged the secretary's post.

Akshit Dahiya of the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) defeated National Students Union of India (NSUI)'s Chetna Tyagi for the president's post by a margin of over 19,000 votes, the highest ever, the student outfit claimed.

"Our presidential candidate has won by a margin of over 19,000 votes, the highest ever margin in recent times. We have won on three posts. We intend to start 'Mission Sahasi 2.0' to empower women," Monika Chaudhary, National Media Convenor, ABVP said.

The voter turnout in DUSU polls on Thursday was recorded at 39.90 per cent, over four percentage points down over last year. Last year, the election saw a 44.46 per cent voters turnout.

The Left-backed All India Students Association (AISA) had expressed happiness over improvement in their vote share at DU.

"Our Joint Secretary candidate got over 10,000 votes. The party's vote share has improved since last year. We are happy about it," said an AISA functionary.

(With inputs from IANS and PTI)