Cong-JD(S) wins 4/5 bypoll seats, shock defeat for BJP in Bellari

Cong-JD(S) bags both assembly seats, BJP bags one LS seat
KPCC president Dinesh Gundurao, AICC general secretary Karnataka in-charge Venugopal Rao and party leaders show victory sign after Congress-JD (S) won the by-polls in Bengaluru on Tuesday. PTI

Bengaluru: In an emphatic endorsement of Karnataka's ruling JD(S)-Congress coalition by the voters, its candidates Tuesday won both the assembly constituencies and clinched two of the three Lok Sabha seats in the bitterly fought by-polls held on Saturday, officials said.

VS Ugruppa of Congress won the Ballari Lok Sabha seat with a margin of 2,43,161 votes and LR Shivaramegowda of JD(S) clinched the Mandya parliamentary seat with a margin of 3,24,943 votes. The sole consolation for BJP was the victory of BY Raghavendra from the Shimoga Lok Sabha seat with a low margin of 52,148 votes.

The byelections came as a major setback for the main opposition BJP ahead of the 2019 elections with the party losing the Ballari Lok Sabha seat, considered a stronghold of the controversial mining barons – the Reddy brothers.

In Bellari, Ugrappa defeated BJP's J Shantha, the sister of B Sriramulu, a key aide of the Reddys and former MP from there. In Mandya Lok Sabha constituency, JD(S) candidate L Shivarame Gowda defeated BJP candidate Siddaramaiah, a political greenhorn and a former civil servant. Mandya is a stronghold of the Vokkaliga community to which JD(S) supremo and former prime minister H D Deve Gowda belongs.

The BJP's sole win came from the Shivamogga parliamentary seat, the pocket borough of the Leader of the Opposition B S Yeyyurappa. His son B Y Raghavendra defeated Madhu Bangarappa of the JD(S). Madhu is the son of former Congress chief minister the late S Bangarappa.

Assembly seats

Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy's wife Anitha bagged the Ramanagara assembly seat by a spectacular margin of 1,09,137 against her nearest rival BJP's L Chandrashekar, who had pulled out of the contest, but still officially remained the party candidate.

Congress-JD(S) wins K'taka bypolls
KPCC president Dinesh Gundurao and AICC general secretary Karnataka in-charge K C Venugopal present a bouquet to former chief minister Siddaramaiah after Congress-JD (S) won the by-polls in Bengaluru on Tuesday. PTI

Chandrashekhar, who had joined the BJP ahead of the polls returned to Congress weeks later, leaving the saffron party red-faced and the field open for a walkover for Anitha Kumaraswamy.

Ramanagara seat fell vacant after Kumaraswamy preferred to retain Chennapatna, the other constituency from where he had won.

In Jamkhandi, Congress candidate Anand Nyamgouda defeated BJP's Srikant Kulkarni by a margin of 39,480 votes, riding a sympathy wave following his father and sitting MLA Siddu Nyamagouda's death in a road accident.

With Tuesday's victory, the Congress-JD(S) alliance's tally will go up to 120 seats in the 224 member assembly where the BJP has 104 MLAs.

Jubilant partners

Elated over the performance of the ruling alliance candidates, jubilant Congress workers distributed sweets and broke coconuts at various places.

Karnataka Congress president Dinesh Gundu Rao claimed the results reflected the disenchantment of people with the BJP.

"Look at the's clear that people are fed up with the BJP. This anti-people, anti-farmer, anti-women government at the Centre must go.

"All forces need to come together to take on the BJP. BJP will be wiped out of Karnataka in 2019 (Lok Sabha polls). If it is wiped out in Karnataka, it will be wiped out in the entire south India," he said.

Karnataka is the only south Indian state where the BJP has been in power.

The by-elections for three Lok Sabha seats were necessitated after Yeddyurappa and Sriramulu of the BJP and C S Puttaraju of the JD(S) vacated Shivamogga, Ballari and Mandya following their election to the assembly in May.

Bypolls to Jamkhandi seat was necessitated following the death of sitting Congress MLA Siddu Nyamagouda.