Nipah outbreak: Entry, exit restricted to 43 wards; essential shops to function from 7am to 5pm

Nipah Virus
File photo: Manorama

Kozhikode: District Collector A Geetha on Tuesday released a list of containment zones in the district in light of the Nipah outbreak here. Entry and exit will be restricted to 43 wards in 7 panchayats, the Collector said in a Facebook post.

 Grama Panchayats & containment wards:
Ayanchery:  1,2,3,4,5,12,13,14,15
Thiruvalloor: 1,2,20
Kuttiady: 3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10
Kayakkodi: 5,6,7,8,9
Vilyappalli: 6,7
Kavilumpara: 2,10,11,12,13,14,15,16

Guidelines for containment zones:

  • There will be no entry into or exit from containment zones. Each ward must be barricaded.
  • Only medical shops and retailers of food and essentials are allowed to open. Shops are allowed to function strictly from 7 am to 5 pm.
  • Medical shops and health centres and hospitals do not have a time limit.
  • Local self government offices and village offices must function with minimum staff. These offices have to encourage online transactions and avoid crowd as far as possible.
  • Banks, schools and anganwadis must be closed until further order.
  • Transportation through public roads in the containment zones  must be banned. Vehicles travelling along National, state Highways are not allowed to stop in the containment zones. District transport officers and regional transport officers must ensure this.
  • In the containment zones, people must keep social distance and use masks and sanitiser. 
The comments posted here/below/in the given space are not on behalf of Onmanorama. The person posting the comment will be in sole ownership of its responsibility. According to the central government's IT rules, obscene or offensive statement made against a person, religion, community or nation is a punishable offense, and legal action would be taken against people who indulge in such activities.