Partly cloudy

Enter word or phrase

Look for articles in

Last Updated Wednesday July 15 2020 05:04 PM IST

BJP picks Janachandran Master for Vengara by-poll

Text Size
Your form is submitted successfully.

Recipient's Mail:*

( For more than one recipient, type addresses seperated by comma )

Your Name:*

Your E-mail ID:*

Your Comment:

Enter the letters from image :

 BJP picks Janachandran Master for Vengara by-poll K. Janachandran Master is a native of Tanur in Malappuram

Thiruvananthapuram: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Thursday announced the name of K Janachandran Master as its candidate for the October 11 by-poll to the Kerala assembly from Vengara constituency.

While P.P. Basheer (CPM) is the ruling Left Democratic Front (LDF) candidate, K.N.A Khader (IUML) is the opposition United Democratic Front (UDF) candidate. Friday (September 22) is the last date to file nominations.

Both the LDF and UDF candidates have already filed their papers.

The by-election was necessitated following the resignation of the sitting MLA and veteran IUML leader P.K. Kunhalikutty on his election to the Lok Sabha from Malappuram in April.

The Lok Sabha by-poll had to be held after the demise of former union minister E. Ahmed. In the 2016 assembly polls, Kunhalikutty had won the Vengara seat with an impressive margin of 38,057 votes as the candidate of the UDF.

Read more: Latest on Vengara by-electionVengara by-election: Three candidates file nomination

Email ID:

User Name:

User Name:

News Letter News Alert
News Letter News Alert